Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Commandline with quotes in devicename  (Read 7435 times)
hddcup
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« on: August 22, 2010, 01:35:22 PM »

Hi all,

My USB disk works fine with the GUI.
But when i build a commandline batch file. The device cannot be found.
Investigation with other working usb drives, it seems that the devicename is not supported with the commandline.
The devicename has " in it.
The full devicename is : \\?\usbstor#disk&ven_toshiba&prod_usb_3.5"-hdd#000dc5f1&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}

Is it possible to workaround this ?

Cuppie
Logged
Doomer
Moderator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 218


« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 05:22:35 PM »

This is Windows native device name there is nothing to work around
Try to take device name in quotes, like
"\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_toshiba&prod_usb_3.5"-hdd#000dc5f1&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}"
Logged
hddcup
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2010, 01:30:58 PM »

that's just the clue...
in the created batchfile the devicename is already between quotes.

Maybe , there are other possible characters for quoting ?
Logged
Doomer
Moderator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 218


« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 10:03:45 PM »

Well, if you find a way post it here please
But it seems it works on most of PCs
Logged
hddcup
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2010, 11:17:52 AM »

It's not possible to get the given devicename in a batchfile.
This is not a problem of hddscan , but is the way the cmd.exe and common syntax works
I've also tried to get the command started with another tool like autohotkey.
But always the same problem.


it would be nice if hddscan could read the devicename from a file.
so that starting hddscan with a parameter , that it reads a file with the devicename, and device parameters.

Logged
Doomer
Moderator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 218


« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2010, 05:55:42 PM »

It's not possible to get the given devicename in a batchfile.
It works for me and many other users
I guess something wrong with your Windows
Logged
hddcup
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2010, 11:51:06 PM »

Excuse me for this confusion, I do not mention , that hddscan isn't working , or does anything wrong.
I can confirm that other disks (also external usb) are working fine with the commandline. Even with my Windows
But when there is a quote in the devicename like :
\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_toshiba&prod_usb_3.5"-hdd#000dc5f1&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}
                                                                ^
It's not possible to execute this on a commandline , because of the 'extra' quote. Even when this whole line is placed between quotes.
Again, this is not an issue of hddscan , its just the way the commandline works.

When playing in the HDDSCAN gui , with this disk, it's also working as expected.

So i wonder if it would become possible to run hddscan with a parameter , instead of a devicename.
This parameter should tell hddscan to read a specific file. In this file are the devicename and its settings.
So the created batch file , does not have any devicename in it, but just a parameter. Another file , has the devicename and its settings.

I understand i'm talking about a kind of feature request.
Even I understand that such a feature request, from just one user,  doesn't make much sense to be executed.
The only thing I care about , is making this nice program better....
 
About the need for this functionallity , i'm currently using the tool CrystalDiskInfo , which does this job exactly.

Kind regards,
Cuppie
« Last Edit: September 03, 2010, 11:52:41 PM by hddcup » Logged
Doomer
Moderator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 218


« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2010, 12:52:22 AM »

A-a-a-a-h, now I get it (he-he I'm dumb after all Smiley )

Well I guess it is possible to make such a feature to avoid problems with weird names in future
Logged
sireddie
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2012, 03:03:38 AM »

Regarding the extra quotation mark ( " ), have you tried escaping it by adding a forward slash ( / ) before it like so: /"
Also try escaping it with an ^ like so: ^"

Another way might be to add the quote (and maybe the escape character) as an environment variable and use that instead.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: