R.LAB data recovery

HDDScan support => HDDScan => Topic started by: cimba007 on May 19, 2011, 07:46:10 PM



Title: Bug: APM-Command breaks Windows 7 Theme
Post by: cimba007 on May 19, 2011, 07:46:10 PM
Hi there,

i noticed a bug involving the APM-Command-Line Command. I use it to change the Energy Settings of my Samsung 2.5" Hard-Drive as followings:

"D:\Users\Jinja\Desktop\HDDScan-3.3\HDDScan.exe" "\\?\ide#disksamsung_hm500ji_________________________2ac101c4#5&2abbc0c&0&0.0.0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}" -APM 254

Before:

(http://img6.imagebanana.com/img/r53b0hfq/thumb/20110519_183818_before.png) (http://www.imagebanana.com/view/r53b0hfq/20110519_183818_before.png)

After:

(http://img6.imagebanana.com/img/wgtfils9/thumb/20110519_183750_after.png) (http://www.imagebanana.com/view/wgtfils9/20110519_183750_after.png)

(http://img6.imagebanana.com/img/aa8ljkng/thumb/20110519_183907_theme.png) (http://www.imagebanana.com/view/aa8ljkng/20110519_183907_theme.png)

Currently i am using a workaround but this is annyoing:

Executing Batch-File as:

"D:\Users\Jinja\Desktop\HDDScan-3.3\HDDScan.exe" "\\?\ide#disksamsung_hm500ji_________________________2ac101c4#5&2abbc0c&0&0.0.0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}" -APM 254
ChangeTheme.vbs

Where the ChangeTheme.vbs is the followings:


Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")

WshShell.Run "rundll32.exe %SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL %SystemRoot%\system32\desk.cpl desk,@Themes /Action:OpenTheme /file:""C:\Windows\Resources\Themes\aero.theme"""

Wscript.Sleep 3000
WshShell.AppActivate("Desktop Properties")
WshShell.Sendkeys "%FC"
WshShell.Sendkeys "{F4}"


This Proccedure opens the Windows Theme Settings after running the APM Command an changes the Theme back. Would be really nice if this could be fixed.

BTW: Is there a way to run the APM-Command after every login or login after screensaver? As launching the Screensaver (thus locking the desk) seems to somehow break the APM-Command.

cimba007

EDIT:

Using Windows 7 Professional
Using HDDScan 3.3


Title: Re: Bug: APM-Command breaks Windows 7 Theme
Post by: Doomer on June 06, 2011, 05:49:26 PM
I don't touch Windows themes in HDDScan
I have no idea why it would happen


Title: Re: Bug: APM-Command breaks Windows 7 Theme
Post by: bugmenot on June 15, 2012, 11:30:12 AM
Same problem here, using Windows 7 x64.

This bug is annoying, I have to close session and reopen to fix theme appearance. Please fix it.


Title: Re: Bug: APM-Command breaks Windows 7 Theme
Post by: dmch on July 05, 2012, 01:39:43 AM
cimba007, bugmenot:

Could you please try the following:
run the program as Admin, click large button in the middle (with the hard drive icon), click "Skin selection" in the drop-down menu and uncheck the "Skinned mode" checkbox.

Then quit the program, re-launch it to make sure that setting is applied (HDDScan window will have default system color) and after that test your batch file once again.


Title: Re: Bug: APM-Command breaks Windows 7 Theme
Post by: Kheops on September 19, 2012, 11:45:31 PM
I have the same problem too. I use Win 7 64 bit and after i run HDDScan or even a batch file from it, it messes windows's theme .
I also disabled Skinned Mode.

By the way , this is for author cimba, if u want your program to run on every log / startup / after screensave ,  make it run as a procces using Task Manager.
Check this tutorial here:
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/67503-task-create-run-program-startup-log.html


Title: Re: Bug: APM-Command breaks Windows 7 Theme
Post by: bugmenot on October 07, 2013, 07:41:11 PM
cimba007, bugmenot:

Could you please try the following:
run the program as Admin, click large button in the middle (with the hard drive icon), click "Skin selection" in the drop-down menu and uncheck the "Skinned mode" checkbox.

Then quit the program, re-launch it to make sure that setting is applied (HDDScan window will have default system color) and after that test your batch file once again.

I've tried that, but the program modifies windows layout whether you're using it skinned or not. Any other solution? It seems we would need a program update, but the last version (3.3) date from 2010...

Thanks